Academic Senate

Professional Development Committee

The Professional Development Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Senate specifically responsible for reviewing and recommending criteria for selection of faculty (criteria currently outlined in the Faculty Recruitment Action Plan, or FRAP) consistent with the purposes of the college and departmental practice, for assisting in the planning of professional development, and for contributing to the establishment of the sabbatical committees and to be a resource for research and development projects.

Fall 2013 Meeting Dates
Meetings this fall will be SmarTeaching events to which all are welcome. They are currently scheduled to place in the CTE on the second Wednesday of every month. An early afternoon and late afternoon time will be offered for each topic to try to accommodate as many faculty members as possible. The specific dates and times are:
   • September 11th: 2pm and 5:30pm
   • October 9th: 2pm and 5:30pm
   • November 13: 2pm and 5:30pm

   • Assisting in the design and planning of in-service educational programs for the faculty and professional staff
   • Promoting faculty community building, and
   • Recognizing outstanding professional achievements by faculty

The committee will consist of members representing the following areas:
The chair of the Professional Development Committee will be a member of Academic Senate, appointed to the chair position by the chair of the Academic Senate.
7 faculty representatives recommended by the President of the TCFA from the following areas:
   • 2 faculty members from Arts & Sciences
   • 2 faculty members from Career Education
   • 1 non-teaching faculty (counselors, enrollment facilitators, or librarians)
   • 1 mid-manager or classified employee

The executive director of the Professional Development Center or Administrative designee

Peggy Murnighan


AY 2012/2013 Members

Chair: Peggy Murnighan
   • Tina Swiniarski
   • Mary Jeans
   • Roseanne Feltman
   • Marilyn Craig
   • Mary Bielski
   • Preet Sallija
   • Liz Brindise
   • Jean Dugo
   • Lucy Smith
   • Annette Jajko
   • Maureen Musker
   • Marie Ange Zicher