Academic Senate

Student Development Committee

A standing committee of the Academic Senate will be appointed for the purpose of developing the campus environment as a means of increasing student success.

The Student Development Committee (SDC) is based upon the premise that the more time and effort students invest in the learning process, the greater will be their growth and achievement, their satisfaction with their education experiences, and their persistence in reaching personal, academic, and career goals.

The committee through a consensus-building process, will work toward the development of a campus environment that promotes frequent faculty and student peer interactions, optimal use and awareness of campus resources and facilities, and opportunities for involvement in student clubs and organizations.

The committee will review educational policy and practices, which impact student involvement in learning, and assess academic support services and co-curricular activities to determine the quality of student involvement. The Student Development Committee (SDC) will present its recommendations to the Academic Senate for final action.

The committee will consist of 11 members representing the following areas:
   • Chair: A member of the Academic Senate
   • 5 full-time Faculty members
   • 2 Adjunct Faculty members (one representing Adult Education)
   • 2 Student representatives
   • 1 Representative from Enrollment Services (Dean or designee)
   • 1 Representative from Student Services (Dean or designee)

Representative    Name   E-Mail
Chair (Faculty):   Hector Zavala  
Co-Chair   Lauren Kosrow  
Faculty Member   Alpha McMath
Faculty Member   Gail Krahenbuhl
Faculty Member   Gregory Catena
Faculty Member   Cheryl Davis
Faculty Member   Sandra Berryhill
Faculty Member   Joseph Klein  
Adjunct Faculty   Samira Sarkes
Adjunct Faculty   William Justiz  

Adult Education Adjunct Faculty        

Enrollment Services   Amanda Turner
Student Services   Corey Williams
Action Champion   Debbie Baness

Scheduled Meeting Dates

Contact us via e-mail: CLICK HERE