The Triton College wrestling program has had a long and rich history, winning all four National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) National Championships in Triton school history. Shorty_NatlAction3

The late legendary coach, Art Kraft, laid the foundation of the program's success. From 1967-85 (18 seasons) as Trojans coach, Triton was crowned National Champions in 1977, 1983 and 1984.

Along with the national success, Kraft guided the Trojans to nine state crowns, coached 44 All-Americans, nine two-time All-Americans and 14 National Champions. Art was named NJCAA Coach of the Year three times. 

This winning tradition has been carried over by current Triton coach and Athletic Director Harry McGinnis. In 25 seasons McGinnis has produced 129 national qualifiers, 31 All-Americans, five two-time All-Americans, one National Champion and 117 Academic All-Americans.

McGinnis’s 1997 team was crowned NJCAA (Non-Scholarship) National Champions, and he was named the NJCAA National Coach of the Year. In 2003 his team was named the National Academic Team Award winner with a team GPA of 3.26!

Student-athletes that have committed for the 2014-15 season are: Marco Nambo, 126 and Shawn Swiderek, 138 (Walther Christian), Samuel Karim, 138 (Ridgewood), Horacio Gomez-Soto, 103 and Andy Santana, 132 (Fenton), Marc Rodriguez, 126 (Gordon Tech.), Phillip Besser, 132 (South Elgin), Giovani Phan, 106 (Hebron, IN), Matt Richardson, 132 (Pontiac), Dan Emma, 113 (Sandwich), Stephen Hayden, 182 (Addison Trail), Jordan Santiago, 160 (York), Gibson Arlasky, 170 (Taft), Matt Murphy, 182 (Andrew), Jesus Ceja, 195 (Morton), and Bobby Carson, 285 (Addison Trail). 

We will have a good nucleus of returning sophmores that have one year of college wrestling under their belt. They are AJ Pascente, 125 (Lisle), Jim Pellegrino, 125 (Sandburg),  Ryan Fulton, 157 (Taft), Joe Perez, 149-57 (Ridgewood), Jerry Harris, 184 (Proviso West), Joe Urso, 197 (St. Patrick), and Darvell Burgess, 285 (Hope Academy).

Here is a summary of Triton’s past wrestling championships and accomplishments:

Midwest Region Championships: 1971, 1972, 1976, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1998

NJCAA National Champions: 1977, 1983, 1984, 1997* (*Non-Scholarship)

NJCAA National Runner-up: 1978 and 1985

NJCAA National Third Place Finishes: 1970, 1971, 1972, 1986, 1994*, 1995*and 2006*


Harry Mcginnis 
  Office: R202E
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. x3784