• Academic Senate

    Academic & Scholastic Standards

    The Academic and Scholastic Standards Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Senate specifically responsible for reviewing and recommending revisions for academic and collegiate standards. Responsibilities include such functions as reviewing and recommending student academic standards, or policies (e.g. withdrawal requirements, probation and dismissal, academic honesty, "I" grades, credit by exam, etc), or academic and scholastic issues which, in the spirit of shared governance, are appropriate for input from this committee.

    The committee will consist of 10 - 16 members representing the following areas:
       • Chair: Co-chairs: One of whom is a member of the Academic Senate
       • 5 - 10 other faculty representatives selected from the following areas:
           • 2 from School of Arts and Sciences
           • 2 from Career Education
           • 1 Counselor
       • 1-2 Student representatives from Phi Theta Kappa and/or the Scholars' Program
       • Administrative representative from School of Arts and Sciences
       • Administrative representative from Careers
       • Administrative representative from Health Careers and Public Service Programs

    Representative from Student Affairs
    Representative from Financial Aid

    Committee Members:
    Beth Dunn    Chairperson & Faculty, Math (V)
    Frank Alvino        Faculty, Business (V)
    D. Lenier Anderson   Faculty, Computer (V)
    Henry Bohleke   Dean, Business and Technology (V)
    David Bowen   Faculty, Math (V)
    Sandy Bowling        Faculty, Nursing Assistant (V)
    Gianna Colella   Student (V)
    Joy Fritz   Faculty, Nursing (V)
    Denise Jones   TRIO (R)
    Joe Klein       Faculty, English (V)
    Kevin Li   Dean, Arts and Science (R)
    Victor McCullum   Faculty, Sociology (V)
    Kent Randall   Faculty, Speech (V)
    Ric Segovia   Associate Dean, College Readiness (V)
    Amanda Turner       Dean, Enrollment Services (R)
    Lance Wilson   Faculty, Science (V)
    Tracy Wright   Faculty, Counseling (V)
      (V) = Voting member
    (R) = Resource member

      Meeting Schedule:

     Monday, September 11, 2017 - 2 PM   Location: E-210W
     Monday, October 9, 2017 - 2 PM         Location: E-210 (CTE)
     Monday, November 13, 2017 - 2 PM   Location: E-216
    Tuesday, December 11, 2017 - 2 PM     Location: E-216
    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 2 PM  Location: F-205
    Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 2 PM      Location: F-205
    Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 2 PM        Location: F-205
    Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 2 PM           Location: F-205