• Academic Senate

    Professional Development Committee

    The Professional Development Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Senate specifically responsible for reviewing and recommending criteria for selection of faculty (criteria currently outlined in the Faculty Recruitment Action Plan, or FRAP) consistent with the purposes of the college and departmental practice, for assisting in the planning of professional development, and for contributing to the establishment of the sabbatical committees and to be a resource for research and development projects.


    • Assisting in the design and planning of in-service educational programs for the faculty and professional staff
    • Promoting faculty community building, and
    • Recognizing outstanding professional achievements by faculty

    2017 Fall Meetings

    Location: A 105. Online attendance to our monthly meetings is available. The link to join the meetings online will be shared per request. The meetings will be recorded and shared with PDC members. 

    Dates and times:
    September 7, Thursday, 4:00-5:00 pm. 
    September 26, Tuesday, 2:00-3:00 pm.
    October 31, Tuesday, 2:00-3:00 pm. 
    November 28, Tuesday, 2:00-3:00 pm.

    2018 Spring Meetings

    Location: A105D. Online attendance to our monthly meetings is available. The link to join the meetings online will be shared per request. The meeting will be recorded and shared with PDC members.

    Dates and times:
    January 30, Tuesday, 2:00-3:00 p.m.
    February 27, Tuesday, 2:00-3:00 p.m.
    March 27, Tuesday, 2:00-3:00 p.m.
    April 24, Tuesday, 2:00-3:00 p.m.


    The committee will consist of members representing the following areas:
    The chair of the Professional Development Committee will be a member of Academic Senate, appointed to the chair position by the chair of the Academic Senate.
    7 faculty representatives recommended by the President of the TCFA from the following areas:
                          • 2 faculty members from Arts & Sciences
                          • 2 faculty members from Career Education
                          • 1 non-teaching faculty (counselors, enrollment facilitators, or librarians)
                          • 1 mid-manager or classified employee
                          • 1 adjunct faculty member

    Serpil Caputlu

    Director of Outstanding Full-Time Faculty Award Selection
    Jennifer Giangreco

    Director of Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award Selection
    Joseph Klein

    Dr. Richard Chan
    Elizabeth Collins
    Elizabeth M. Brindise
    Jean M. Dugo
    Jennifer Giangrego
    Joseph Klein
    Kevin Li
    Marilyn Craig
    Naveen Aman
    Roseanne Feltman
    Rudy Gostowski
    Shelley Tiwari
    Sylvia Sztark
    Tina Mote
    Tuan Dean