Arts & Sciences Banner

Visual, Performing and Communication Arts Department

Visual Arts classes, students may develop skills in traditional art forms such as painting, drawing, and ceramics. In our Visual Communication area, students also use new media art forms that incorporate the use of computer and digital technology. Art appreciation and art history courses enrich students‘ understanding of all the visual arts and the ways in which artists explore and communicate the depths of human experience within their chosen medium. The Art Gallery in the Fine Arts Building hosts numerous shows throughout the year and is an important part of our educational programming for our art students.

Degrees
 Art Degree (Associate of Arts - U224A50)
 Art Degree (Associate of Fine Arts - U250A50)
 Digital Photography Degree (Associate in Applied Science - C249C)
 Visual Communication - Graphic Design Degree (Associate in Applied Science - C248C)
Certificates
 Digital Photography Certificate - C348O
 Layout and Design Certificate - C448W
 Visual Communication - Digital Media Certificate - C448U
 Visual Communication - Graphic Design Certificate - C348C
Courses
 Art Courses
 Visual Communication Courses

The Performing Arts area includes Music, Theatre, and Dance. In Music, applied lessons in a variety of instruments and in voice are taught by highly qualified musicians. In addition to private instruction, students may develop performance skills by participating in Concert Band, Choir, and Jazz Ensembles. Foundation courses for musicians such as Music Theory, Sight-Singing and Ear-Training are offered as are courses in Music Technology. Many of theses classes are taught in our Music Laboratory, where student learning is enhanced through the use of computer technology. Every semester, several classes in music appreciation and music history are offered as well. These courses are available both on campus as well as online.

The Theatre area also offers a wide array of courses and programming. Classes that teach students to appreciate and understand Theatre as an art form are enjoyed by many students every semester. In addition, several classes in Acting are offered in which students learn basic techniques of characterization, script analysis, auditioning, and other skills crucial to the beginning actor. The Theatre area also produces a four-production season each year. Classics, comedies, serious dramas as well as musicals are included in our programming. There is something for everyone to enjoy, and at affordable prices. Plays are presented in the intimate studio space in the Fine Arts building (Cox Theatre) and musicals are produced in the larger Performing Arts Center in the Robert Collins Center building on the east side of campus.

The Performing Arts area also includes courses in Dance Appreciation (beginning Fall 2008).

Degrees
 Music Degree (Associate in Arts - U224A51)
 Music Degree (Associate in Fine Arts - U250M51)
 Music Technology Degree (Associate in U224A52)
 Speech/Theatre Degree (Associate in Arts -U224A22)
Courses
 Music Courses
 Speech/Theatre Courses

The Communication Arts area of the Fine Arts department includes Speech Communication and Mass Communication. In Speech classes, students learn how to effectively communicate ideas and feelings through the spoken word. As a core component within our General Education curriculum, most students who pursue a degree at Triton College will enroll in one of our Principles of Effective Speaking classes. Some students may wish to take our Advanced Public Speaking class or Introduction to Performance Studies class as well. Additional course offerings include Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Small Group Communication and Gender and Communication.

Degrees
 Speech Communication Degree (Associates in Arts - U224A23)
Courses
 Speech/Theatre Courses


In Mass Communication, students explore human communication in its many mediated forms, including radio, television, film, print, the internet, and even hip-hop music! Our Film History and Appreciation courses are especially popular with students.

Degrees
 Mass Communication - Multimedia Degree (Associate in U224A09)
Courses
 Mass Communication - Multimedia Courses
Faculty
Dennis McNamara
  Chair, Department of Visual, Performing and Communication Arts; Instructor of Theatre and Speech
  Office: J-219
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3597
  Email: dmcnama2@triton.edu
   
Lorette Dodt M.A.
  Coordinator and Instructor of Visual Communications
  Office: T-153
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3519
  Email: ldodt@triton.edu
  Web site: http://academics.triton.edu/faculty/ldodt/
   
 Michael Erzen
  Instructor of Art
  Office: J-227
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3225
  Email: merzen@triton.edu
   
 Peter Jermihov D.M.A.
  Director of Choral and Activities and Vocal Studies; Instructor of Music Theory and Applied Voice
  Office: J-112A
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3330
  Email: pjermiho@triton.edu
   
 Seth McClellan
  Instructor of Mass Communication
  Office: A-113
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3451
  Email: smcclel2@triton.edu
   
 Dennis Keith McNamara
  Lead Instructor of Art
  Office: J-219
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3597
  Email: dmcnama2@triton.edu
  Web site: http://academics.triton.edu/faculty/dmcnamara
   
 Kathleen Navilio
  Instructor of Visual Communications
  Office: T-153
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3528
  Email: knavil22@triton.edu
   
 Kent Randall 
  Instructor of Speech
  Office: J-216
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3477
  Email: krandal2@triton.edu
   
 Lisa Samra
  Lead Instructor of Theatre and Speech
  Office: J-220
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3421
  Email: LSAMRA@triton.edu
   
Administration
Ric Segovia
  Assistant Dean, Arts and Sciences
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3260
  Email: rsegovia@triton.edu
   
Faculty
Joseph Stolz
  Instructor of Visual Communications
  Office: T-144
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3256
  Email: jstolz@triton.edu
  Web site: http://academics.triton.edu/faculty/jstolz/index.html
   
Adjunct Faculty
Kina Bagovska
  Instructor of Studio Art
  Email: kbagovsk@triton.edu
   
 Beverle Bloch Ph.D.
  Instructor of Speech
  Office: J-216
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3506
  Email: blochbe@yahoo.com
   
Anita Bross
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: abross@triton.edu
   
Amy Brown
  Instructor of Art History
  Email: abrown26@triton.edu
   
Marilyn Craig
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: mcraig2@triton.edu
   
James Davis
  Instructor of Applied Jazz Trumpet
  (708) 456-0300
  Email: jdavis24@triton.edu
   
Archawee Dhamavasi
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: adhamava@triton.edu
   
Amy Fenton
  Instructor of Theatre
  Office: J-221
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3431
  Email: afenton1@triton.edu
   
Elizabeth Friedman
  Instructor of Art History
  Email: efriedma@triton.edu
   
Charles R. Groeling
  Assistant Concert Band Director
  Email: cgroelin@triton.edu
   
Chris Gulinski
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: cgulinsk@triton.edu
   
Joe Harrington
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: jharrin4@triton.edu
   
Alan Jacobson
  Instructor of Mass Communications
  Email: ajacobso@triton.edu
   
Mort Kier
  Instructor of Music History
  Email: mkier@triton.edu
   
Maria Kossakowski
  Instructor of Speech
   
  Email: mkossako@triton.edu
Jill Kozeluh
  Instructor of Film History and Appreciation
  Email: jkozeluh@triton.edu
   
Linda Kravitz
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: lkravitz@triton.edu
   
Steve Magnone
  Instructor of Applied Percussion, Music History & Jazz
  Email: smagnone@triton.edu
   
Art Nehmzow
  Instructor of Applied French Horn & Music History
   
Norman Nilsson
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: nnilsson@triton.edu
   
Tony Noice
  Instructor of Speech
   
Margaret Norton
  Instructor of Art History
  Email: mnorton@triton.edu
   
Brian O’Callaghan
  Instructor of Applied Guitar & Jazz
  Email: bocallag@triton.edu
   
Brian Patti
  Instructor of Applied Woodwinds & Music History
  Email: bpatti2@triton.edu
   
Talia Pavia
  Instructor of Music History and Applied Strings
  Email: tpavia@triton.edu
   
Felicity Rich
  Instructor of Studio Art
  Email: frich@triton.edu
   
Meghan Roth
  Instructor of Speech
   
Joe Schill
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: jschill@triton.edu
   
Eugene Schlabach
  Instructor of Applied Piano
   
Diane Shapiro
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: dshapir1@triton.edu
   
Vanessa Sirianno
  Instructor of Speech
   
Jonathan J. Smith
  Instructor of Electronic Music & Record Production
  Email: jsmith24@triton.edu
   
Michael Staron
  Interim Lead Instructor of Music, Instructor of Music History & Jazz
  Email: mstaron2@triton.edu
   
Jeffrey Tischauser
  Instructor of Speech & Mass Communication
  Email: jtischau@triton.edu
   
Sarah Widegren
  Instructor of Speech
   
Jay Williams
  Instructor of Speech
  Email: jwillia1@triton.edu
   
Shelley Yoelin
  Instructor of Music History
  Office: J-220
  (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3321
  Email: syoelin@triton.edu