Real Estate Academy
Home Inspection - RES E35
Course Description: This course satisfies the 60 clock hours required to be eligible to obtain an Illinois Home Inspector License. It examines the major elements of home inspection. Specific attention will be given to exteriors, interiors, roofing, plumbing, electrical, HVAC, structure, and miscellaneous appliances. The Illinois Home Inspector Law/Administrative Rules and Standards of Practice will also be covered.
Upon completion of the above course, the student will have the course work required to apply for the Home Inspector state examination.
This program examines the major elements of home inspection. Specific attention will be given to exteriors, interiors, roofing, plumbing, electrical, HVAC, structural and miscellaneous appliances. The Illinois Home Inspector Law/Administrative Rules and Standards of Practice also will be covered. Satisfies the educational requirements set forth by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation - Division of Professional Regulation.
Real Estate Broker Pre-License
Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course - RES E13
Course Description: Effective April 2011, legislation affecting the Illinois Real Estate Act of 2000 eliminated the Real Estate Salesperson License. In its place is the Real Estate Broker License with new educational requirements. This course satisfies the 90 hours of instruction required by the Illinois Department of Professional and Financial Regulation. Successful completion allows the students to sit for the Real Estate Broker Examination.
Spring 2020 Schedule:
2/3/2020 - 5/20/2020 - Classroom Course
Monday and Wednesday Evenings: 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Triton Main Campus
1/29/2020 - 5/15/2020 - Online Course
Required Classroom Orientation: 1/21/2020 5:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
State Required 15 Classroom Meetings: 5/6/2020, 5/11/2020, 5/13/2020, 5/18/2020 & 5/20/2020 - 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. at Triton College
Out-of-District: $1923.18 (College fees and books are not included)
- Wednesday, January 15, 2020 @ 5:30PM in A-Building, Room 122A
Real Estate License Renewal Requirements
Important Notice for Real Estate Students - Changes to Illinois State Real Estate Educational Requirements
Due to modifications of the Real Estate License Act of 2000 the following changes became effective May 1, 2011: Changes the license categories under the Act from Salesperson and Broker to Broker and Managing Broker. The term "broker" is what the public identifies with when it comes to the real estate licensee they work with in a transaction. The term "managing broker" clearly identifies the person(s) in the brokerage operation that have management authority and responsibility.
- Increases the entry-level of licensure – now "broker" - from 45 hours of pre-license courses to 90 hours of pre-license courses.
- Provides that 15 of those hours shall be "situational" offerings in a classroom or interactive setting.
- Requires brokers to take 30 hours of post-licensure education within the first renewal period. 15 of those hours must be situational in an interactive setting.
- Requires 12 hours of continuing education (CE) each renewal period (except the first period when the 30 hours of post-license coursework are taken).
- The current top category of licensure – "broker" – requires 120 hours of licensure (salesperson plus 45 hours). This bill creates the new category of "managing broker", and requires managing brokers to have 165 pre-license hours (the 120 broker hours, plus a 45 hour course of study focusing on management of an office, supervision of licensees, and administrative issues; 15 of those 45 hours would be situational offerings in an interactive setting).
- Managing brokers would have to take the 12 hours per renewal of broker CE, plus an additional 12 hours of CE on broker management.
- Provides that salespersons have until 4/30/12 to move to "broker" license category by either passing a proficiency exam (to be provided by pre-license course providers), or by taking 30 hours of education and passing an exam (provided by a pre-license course provider);
- No new salesperson licenses after 4/30/11 – the end of the next salesperson renewal period – but extends that license period to 4/30/12.
- New "broker management" license available 5/1/11.
- Existing brokers who are not managing, no new requirements.
- Brokers on record with IDFPR on 4/30/11 have until 4/30/12 to either pass a proficiency exam (given by a pre-license provider), or take 45 hours of coursework and pass an exam (given by a pre-license provider).
Broker Real Estate Sales License Renewals
If you were licensed as a Salesperson on or before April 30, 2007:
• 12 Hours of CE is Required
• 6 Core/Mandatory Hours
• 6 Elective hours
If you were licensed as a Salesperson between May 1, 2007 and April 30, 2008:
• Six Hours of CE is Required
• Three Core/Mandatory Hours
• Three Elective Hours
If you were licensed as a Salesperson on or after May 1, 2008:
• No CE is Required
Broker CE Requirements for 2010 Renewal
If you were licensed as a Broker on or before 4/30/2008
• 18 Hours of Continuing Education Required: Six Core Credits + Six Elective Credits
• Six Hours Broker Management
If you are a Broker previously Licensed as a Salesperson
• 18 Hours of Continuing Education Required: Six Core + Six Elective Credits AND
• Six Hours Broker Management due within 180 Days of Licensure
Licensed as a Broker Between 5/1/2008 and 4/30/2009. *If not previously licensed as a salesperson
• 12 Hours of Continuing Education Required: Three Core Credits + Three Elective Credits AND
• Six Hours Broker Management due within 180 days of licensure.
Licensed as a Broker on or after 5/1/2009 AND not previously licensed as a salesperson
• Six Hours of Broker Management due within 180 days of Licensure
- Continuing Education must have been completed during the renewal period of 5/1/2008 through 4/30/2010.
- The additional six hours of broker management continuing education should be earned between 5/1/08 and 4/30/2010.
- Continuing Education credit for broker courses may apply if the courses are dually licensed. IAR courses are dually licensed and include credit according to the following:
- Brokerage Administration – Three Hours Core
- Advanced Principles 2000 – Three Hours Core
- Contracts – Three Hours Core
- Sales & Brokerage – Three Hours Elective
- Appraisal – Three Hours Elective
- Finance – Three Hours Elective
- Principles Review – NO CE CREDIT
If the broker courses were taken BEFORE 5/1/09 and used as CE credit for the salesperson's renewal, they cannot be used as credit towards broker's renewal. Continuing Education earned for IDFPR disciplinary purposes may not be used towards CE renewal.
Licensees must retain all original certification of completion for their files. They are evidence of satisfactory completion of Continuing Education credit in case of an audit.
Do I need to worry about the conversion right now?
Not immediately. The conversion/transition period will not begin until May 1, 2011. Administrative rules will be drafted to further clarify the transition process.
What are the new license categories under the revised act?
Two main categories of licensure will exist under the revised act: a) Managing Broker b) Broker There are no changes to the leasing agent requirements.
I am a real estate salesperson with an active license. How long will my license remain in effect?
The expiration date on all actively-licensed real estate salesperson licenses will be extended an additional year and will expire April 30, 2012. Your current license is acceptable to use until this date.
What will the requirements be for a salesperson converting to a broker?
The salesperson must take 30 hours of post-licensure education that will be further defined by administrative rule and application made to the division prior to April 30, 2012. Or … successfully pass a one time only proficiency examination given by AMP. An additional 18 hours of CE 9 core (3 hours Core A, 6 hours Core B) and 9 elective hours and a $150 renewal fee will be required to renew the broker license beginning February 1, 2012.
What will the requirements be for a broker converting to a managing broker?
To be actively licensed as a broker and take 45 hours of post-licensure education as defined by Administrative Rule and make application to the Division prior to April 30, 2012. Or … be listed as the managing broker with the division and successfully pass a one time only proficiency examination.
What will the requirements be for a newly licensed broker effective May 1, 2011?
90 hours of pre-license coursework including 15 hours of “situational” offerings in a classroom or interactive setting and pass the state exam.
What will the requirements be for a newly licensed managing broker effective May 1, 2011?
An active Illinois broker will need to take 45 hours of managing broker pre-license coursework including 15 hours of “situational” offerings in a classroom or interactive setting to ensure that licensees obtain practical knowledge before acquiring a license.